To content To search Skip navigation

Leverage products on new underlyings: Arista Networks Inc, Broadcom Inc, Linde PLC, und Palo Alto Networks Inc – tradeable on Swiss DOTS!

Navigation

FAQ

What's a Mini-Future Certificate?

Mini-Future Certificates bring together the advantages of open end tracker certificates and warrants to create an attractive and innovative investment opportunity. Put simply, BNP Paribas finances part of the cost of the underlying, which reduces the investor’s capital outlay. However, since the performance of the underlying is fully reflected in the investment, a leverage effect is created.

What is the difference between a Mini-Long and a Mini-Short?

Mini-Future Certificates are available in both long and short versions. Investors who expect the price of their chosen underlying to rise would buy a Mini-Long Certificate, those who anticipate a downward price trend would buy a Mini-Short Certificate.

What are the risks to consider when trading leveraged products?

Leverage products are generally aimed at experienced investors with advanced knowledge. We therefore recommend that investors read the product documentation carefully, particularly with regard to the following risk factors:

  • Market risk: The prices of leverage products may fluctuate sharply up or down due to price movements of the underlying, which in the worst case may lead to a total loss of the invested capital.

  • Leverage effect: As the leverage effect works both upwards and downwards, it can have a negative or positive effect on the value of a leverage product.

  • Risk of termination/reinvestment risk: The issuer has the right to terminate a leverage product without maturity (so-called "open-end" products) by giving prior notice to holders. In such a case, the redemption amount may, under certain circumstances, be considerably lower than the initial issue price and, in the worst case, the redemption value may even be zero, which corresponds to a total loss of the capital invested. Furthermore, investors bear the risk that the redemption occurs at an inopportune time and that the redemption amount can only be reinvested at less favorable conditions.

  • Exchange rate risk: Leverage products are subject to exchange rate risk if the underlying is traded in a different currency than the leverage product itself. Exchange rate fluctuations can influence the value of an investment in leverage products both positively and negatively.

  • Credit risk/default risk: The investor bears the risk of default and bankruptcy of the issuer and the risk of default and bankruptcy of the guarantor. In the event of a likely or certain bankruptcy of the issuer and/or the guarantor, the investor may lose part or the entirety of the capital, or may receive other financial instruments in replacement, or may suffer from a change in the terms and conditions.of thr products.

Where can I buy the products?

Our products can be traded either on the Swiss Exchange or over the counter.

Exchange trading: When buying and selling products via SIX Swiss Exchange, investors place a corresponding order via their bank or the online broker with which they maintain a securities account. BNP Paribas acts as market maker and provides continuously tradable bid and ask prices (buying and selling prices). In the case of a market order (order to execute a transaction at the current best possible price), order execution is always guaranteed under normal market conditions, even if there has been no turnover in the relevant product on the stock exchange for some time.

Off-exchange trading: For clients of Swissquote and PostFinance, BNP Paribas offers a comprehensive range of leveraged products for off-exchange trading via Swiss DOTS. With off-exchange trading, the exchange is bypassed. Investors thus trade directly with the issuer or the market maker. The fees for off-exchange trading are therefore usually lower than those for trading via the exchange.

Information on the trading venue and trading hours for each product are available on the respective product detail pages on our website.

How is the Financing Level adjusted for Mini-Futures?

As with all leveraged products, investors have to pay financing costs. They do so in the case of a Mini-Future Certificate via a daily adjustment of the Financing Level. This means that the Financing Level does not remain constant throughout the life of the Mini-Future Certificate but is instead adjusted on a daily basis. It is therefore recommended that investors accurately manage their positions in order to balance actual costs and gains expected from their strategy.

Changes in the Financing Level are determined by the following factors:

  • The Market Rate in the currency of the underlying
  • An Interest Rate Margin (Financing Spread) set by BNP Paribas
  • Any dividends paid out on the underlying (Dividend Adjustment Amount)
  • Rollover of the underlying futures contract (for Mini-Future Certificates on commodity futures)

The following calculation is used to adjust the Financing Level:
Financing Leveltomorrow = Financing Leveltoday x (1 + Financing Ratetoday)1/360 - Dividend Adjustment Amount

Whereas the Financing Rate of a Mini-Long differs from the Financing Rate of a Mini-Short:
Mini-Long: Financing Rate = Market Rate + Financing Spread
Mini-Short: Financing Rat= Market Rate – Financing Spread

Any dividends (after tax) paid out are deducted from the Financing Level by BNP Paribas on the underlying equity‘s ex-dividend date for both Mini-Longs and Mini-Shorts.

Please note: BNP Paribas can also charge the financing costs during the trading day, which means that day traders (who buy and sell their position within one trading day) may incur financing costs too

How can you hedge your portfolio against falling prices?

There are numerous ways to protect a stock portfolio from price losses during a bear market. In our article on "Portfolio hedging", we present two alternatives.

What is meant by "intrinsic value" and "time value"?

In the case of Mini-Future Certificates and Knock-Out Warrants, the purchase price is always very much based on the difference between the financing level/strike and the current price of the underlying. This is not so simple with warrants. Here, the purchase price is determined from the addition of two value components that can be analyzed separately: the "intrinsic valueʺ and the "time valueʺ.

The intrinsic value corresponds to the difference between the strike/exercise price and the current price of the underlying.

Warrants always have a term. For investors, there is therefore always the chance that the price of the underlying will be above (Call Warrant) or below (Put Warrant) the strike by the end of the term. This chance can be assigned a probability of occurrence and a value using financial mathematical methods. It should come as no surprise that this opportunity is not offered free of charge on the capital market, but that a price must be paid for it. In options language, this opportunity, to which a probability of occurrence can be assigned, is called time value. For this reason, a Call Warrant whose strike price is above, or a Put Warrant whose strike price is below, the current price of the underlying asset is not worthless during its term, even if exercising it would make no economic sense.

Back to the top of the page

Au contenu A la récherche Passer la navigation

Produits à effet de levier sur de nouveaux sous-jacents: Arista Networks Inc, Broadcom Inc, Linde PLC, und Palo Alto Networks Inc – négociable sur Swiss DOTS!

Navigation

FAQ

Que sont les certificats Mini-Future?

Les certificats Mini-Future sont des produits d’investissement attractifs et innovants offrant à l’investisseur les avantages des certificats tracker open end et des warrants. BNP Paribas finance une partie de la valeur du sous-jacent, réduisant ainsi l’apport initial de l’investisseur. L’effet de levier provient du fait que l’investisseur finance uniquement une partie de la valeur du sous-jacent mais le certificat Mini-Future suit l’intégralité de sa performance.

Quelle est la différence entre un Mini-Long et un Mini-Short?

Il existe deux types de certificats Mini-Future: les certificats Mini-Long et les certificats Mini-Short. Les investisseurs anticipant une hausse du sous-jacent peuvent opter pour un certificat Mini-Long. En cas d’anticipation à la baisse du sous-jacent, les investisseurs s’orienteront vers un certificat Mini-Short.

Quels sont les risques à prendre en compte lors du négoce de produits à effet de levier ?

Les produits à effet de levier s'adressent en principe à des investisseurs expérimentés disposant de connaissances avancées. Nous recommandons donc aux investisseurs de lire attentivement la documentation relative au produit, notamment en ce qui concerne les facteurs de risque suivants :

  • Risque de marché: Les prix des produits à effet de levier peuvent fortement fluctuer à la hausse ou à la baisse en raison des variations de cours du sous-jacent, ce qui peut entraîner, dans le pire des cas, une perte totale du capital investi.

  • Effet de levier: Comme l'effet de levier opère à la hausse et à la baisse, il peut avoir un impact négatif ou positif sur la valeur d'un produit à effet de levier.

  • Risque de résiliation/réinvestissement: L'émetteur a le droit de résilier un produit à effet de levier sans limite de durée (produits dits "open end"), sous réserve d'en informer au préalable les investisseurs. Dans ce cas, la valeur de rachat peut se révéler nettement inférieur au prix d'émission initial et, dans le pire des cas, la valeur de rachat peut même être nulle, soit une perte totale du capital investi. Par ailleurs, les investisseurs courent le risque d'une résiliation survenant à un moment inopportun, de sorte qwue la valeur de rachat ne peut être réinvesti qu'à des conditions moins favorables.

  • Risque de change: Les produits à effet de levier sont exposés au risque de change dès lors que le sous-jacent est négocié dans une devise différente de celle du produit à effet de levier. Les fluctuations de change peuvent avoir une incidence tant positive que négative sur la valeur d'un investissement en produits à effet de levier.

  • Risque de crédit/défaut de paiement: L'investisseur supporte le risque de défaut de paiement et de faillite de l'émetteur ainsi que le risque de défaut de paiement et de faillite du garant. En cas de faillite probable ou certaine de l'émetteur et/ou du garant, l'investisseur peut perdre une partie ou la totalité du capital, ou recevoir d'autres instruments financiers en remplacement, ou subir un changement des termes et conditions du produit.

Où puis-je acheter les produits ?

Nos produits peuvent être négociés soit à la Bourse suisse, soit hors bourse.

Négociation en bourse : lors de l'achat et de la vente de produits via SIX Swiss Exchange, l'investisseur passe un ordre correspondant via sa banque ou le courtier en ligne auprès duquel il détient un dépôt de titres. BNP Paribas agit alors en tant que teneur de marché et met à disposition des cours d'achat et de vente négociables en permanence. Dans le cas d'un ordre de marché (ordre d'exécution d'une transaction au meilleur prix actuel), l'exécution de l'ordre est toujours garantie dans des conditions de marché normales, même si aucune transaction n'a été réalisée en bourse depuis longtemps sur le produit correspondant.

Négoce hors bourse : pour les clients de Swissquote et PostFinance, BNP Paribas propose une vaste offre de produits à effet de levier pour le négoce hors bourse via Swiss DOTS. Le négoce hors bourse permet de passer outre la bourse. Les investisseurs négocient donc directement avec l'émetteur ou le teneur de marché. Les frais du négoce hors bourse sont donc généralement inférieurs à ceux du négoce en bourse.

Vous trouverez des informations sur le lieu de négoce et les heures de négoce pour chaque produit sur les pages de détail de chaque produit sur notre site Internet.

Comment le Niveau de financement des Mini-Futures est-il ajusté?

Comme dans tous les produits à effet de levier, l’investisseur paie des frais de financement. Ces frais sont intégrés dans le niveau de financement et ajustés quotidiennement dans le prix des certificats Mini-Future. Cela signifie que le niveau de financement ne reste pas constant pendant la durée de vie du certificat Mini-Future mais est ajusté quotidiennement. Il est donc recommandé aux investisseurs de gérer avec précision leurs positions afin d‘équilibrer les coûts réels et les gains attendus de leur stratégie.

L’évolution du niveau de financement dépend des facteurs suivants:

  • Du taux du marché de la devise du sous-jacent
  • D’une marge sur le taux d’intérêt (Financing Spread) fixé par BNP Paribas
  • Du versement éventuel de dividendes sur le sous-jacent (Montant d‘adjustement de dividende)
  • Du rollover du contrat à terme sous-jacent (pour les certificats Mini-Future sur les contrats à terme sur matières premières)

Le niveau de financement est ajusté de la façon suivante:
Niveau de financementdemain = Niveau de financement aujourd’hui x (1 + Taux de financement aujourd’hui )1/360 - Montant d’ajustement de dividende

Le taux de financement d’un Mini-Long est différent du taux de financement d’un Mini-Short:
Mini-Long: Taux de financement = Taux du marché + Financing Spread
Mini-Short: Taux de financement = Taux du marché – Financing Spread

Les dividendes (après taxes) éventuels sont déduits du niveau de financement des Mini-Longs et Mini-Shorts par BNP Paribas à la date de détachement du dividende de l’action.

Veuillez noter: BNP Paribas peut également facturer les frais de financement pendant la journée de négociation, ce qui peut entraîner des frais de financement aussi pour les « day traders » (qui achètent et vendent leur position au cours d’une journée de négociation).

Comment protéger son portefeuille contre une baisse des cours?

Il existe de nombreuses façons de protéger un portefeuille d'actions contre les pertes de cours lors d'un marché baissier. Dans notre article sur la "Couverture de portefuille", nous présentons deux alternatives.

Qu’est-ce que la “valeur intrinsèque” ou la “valeur temps”?

Pour les certificats Mini-Future et les Knock-Out Warrants, le prix d'achat s'oriente toujours très fortement sur la différence entre le niveau de financement/le strike et le cours actuel du sous-jacent. Ce n'est pas aussi simple pour les Warrants. Ici, le prix d'achat est déterminé par l'addition de deux composantes de valeur qui peuvent être analysées séparément : la "valeur intrinsèqueʺ et la "valeur tempsʺ.

La valeur intrinsèque correspond à la différence entre le prix d'exercice/le strike et le cours actuel du sous-jacent.

Les Warrants ont toujours une durée de vie. Pour les investisseurs, il y a donc toujours une chance que le cours du sous-jacent soit supérieur (Call Warrant) ou inférieur (Put Warrant) au prix d'exercice jusqu'à l'échéance. Des méthodes de mathématiques financières permettent d'attribuer une probabilité de survenance et une valeur à cette chance. Il ne faut pas s'étonner que cette chance ne soit pas offerte gratuitement sur le marché des capitaux, mais qu'il faille en payer le prix. Dans le langage des options, cette chance à laquelle on peut attribuer une probabilité de réalisation est appelée valeur temps. C'est pourquoi un Call Warrant dont le prix d'exercice est supérieur au cours actuel du sous-jacent ou un Put Warrant dont le prix d'exercice est inférieur à ce cours n'est en principe pas sans valeur pendant la durée de vie, même si son exercice est économiquement inutile.

Retour en début de page